Family Gatherings (Part 1)

How should I say this in a nicer way? Hmm…I guess I can’t.

Hi guys, it’s a Friday at last and it’s a Friday nearing my mother’s birthday and Thanksgiving. Well, you know what that means. Family gathering at my house. But without my sister and I present at home this time around.

Let me get this straight. If there is a family gathering without both my sister and I, there is a 99% chance that either my sister or I will have to go through video calling. When there is video calling, I have to prepare myself for the worst. Why do you ask so? Firstly, you need to know that I am Asian AND as most people stereotypically know, we Asians have to address each family member carefully, respectfully and without doubt, happily (if my face muscles allow me to do so without pain). I, of course, panicked and eventually addressed every family member with care and respect. Not really for my cousins though. I just yelled out their names and start dancing crazily without shame. Hmm…they grew up so fast *sheds a tear*

Anyways, the main point of this post was to discuss about my aunts or just one of my aunts whose remarks made the highlight of the whole video call. Yes, you read that right and you already know what is coming next. One of my aunts saw me through the IPad screen and kept repeating these over and over again. As if I’m missing an ear or my hearing has been blocked by ear wax or as if I am not aware of how haggard I have been looking throughout the whole video call. “Mint, why are your cheeks so red? Is the weather there that bad? Why is your hair looking so bad? Your hair is so long and messy. You should cut your hair shorter like my daughter.” (」゜ロ゜)」

Hmm, why am I annoyed with these questions? Not really  ╮( ˘ 、 ˘ )╭ but that last sentence ticked me off. Let me get this fact out. I am not fond of her daughter. Okay let’s use a stronger word. I don’t like her. Comparing me with her, is just like adding fuel to my anger of fire I have been trying to put out ever since we were little. Like I don’t care if I look like I have not been sleeping for decades but don’t even drag me into such comparisons because I can’t help my face muscles from frowning if you were to say it like that. But thankfully, in response to her questions, I insulted myself even more and said I should cut my hair to the length her daughter has currently. Everything seem to quiet down after that, either if it’s the poor connection or just luck that they escaped my fury.

But hey, you might be wondering, how bad can comparisons be? It’s pretty bad if you are someone like me. Someone who is lacking of confidence, someone who looks at the ground instead of looking straight while trotting down the street, someone who apologizes even if I was the one who was being pushed. I don’t like this side of mine but I can’t seem to get in between arrogance and humbleness.

Anyways, family gatherings can be political, gossipy as well as full of tears (my little cousin’s tears that is) but these gatherings are memorable events, despite conflicts and all, blood relatives and even non-blood relatives getting together once in a few months or years is especially precious. You never know who is going to come and go during this long yet short lifetime of yours so always keep that goofy smile of yours during family gatherings and enjoy yourself to the fullest. No matter how troublesome little cousins are, no matter how many times your grandparents or uncles or aunts keep asking you the same thing over and over again, take it as their love for you. |ω・)ノ

Well, I guess this is all for today. I’m pretty sure there will be lots of posts regarding family gatherings in the future since I have loads of family gatherings memories to share too. Thanks for reading my stress post of the day and have a great weekend ahead!

Signing off,

Mint /(・ ᆺ ・)\♡

Leave a Reply

